What is a Chakra Meditation?

What is a Chakra Meditation?

Many people these days are doing everything in their power to try and take better care of their health. It is not an easy task considering many people in our world struggle with anxiety, depression, a chronic illness, or an inability to relax.  Not to be bleak, but many people also allow their emotions to control them. They don’t understand the importance of how emotions and thinking interplay and how that also impacts health.

Of all the emotions, anger is considered by most spiritual gurus as being the most toxic and poison to health. Some would even argue that it can be scientifically proven that anger diminishes health over time. I’ve never seen those studies… but that doesn’t mean they don’t exist. Of course, there is a time and place for everything, and few people take time to understand that anger has its place and its time.

That’s the thing about advanced spirituality that many people overlook. Being spiritual is not simple. It isn’t meant to be. For every rule you learn, I can all but guarantee there will be a place and time to break that rule. That’s because life is not black or white. Instead, it exists in multiple layers of greys. There has to be a certain level of discernment that one learns. That discernment is essential in determining what rule to apply, when, and how long.

So we tell students to “meditate” and “think positive.” We advise students, “pay attention to how you’re feeling and why you’re feeling that way.” Which are all great advice and things that all spiritual students do, in fact, benefit from. BUT, there are times when you should NOT meditate. There are times when thinking happy thoughts is more detrimental than helpful. There are even times when it’s essential to just be human and not burden the self with figuring out your emotional complexities.

But I digress. This article is about chakra meditation. Understanding what it is and how to do it. Understanding why it’s crucial to perform it. As you read this blog post, remember that there is a time and place for everything. A time to do sitting meditation, a time to do moving meditation, a time to do gratitude work, and a time to do chakra work. These spiritual practices don’t ALL have to be done on the same day. They don’t even ALL have to be done one after the other.

In fact, at some point in your spiritual practice, you’ll need to determine exactly what your spiritual practice routine looks like. It can change, but you should be disciplined enough to do SOMETHING spiritual each and every day. So perhaps on Monday and Wednesday, you do sitting meditation. On Tuesday and Thursday, a Chakra meditation. Maybe on Friday and Saturday, you focus on gratitude work. On Sunday, you do a creative visualization for setting your intention for how you want the week ahead to look. That’s only one example of how you can set up your own daily spiritual practice.

The important thing is you’re doing SOMETHING every day.

So now, let’s get back to the chakra meditation and break it down.

What is a Chakra?

You can learn much more about the chakras by reading my first blog post on them. An Introduction to the Chakras.

To simplify – a chakra is a spinning vortex located at various points in the body. We usually focus on the seven that align the spine. Each chakra point is responsible for something different regarding our energetic makeup. Ultimately, just how clear and clean these chakra points are determines our emotional, physical, mental, and spiritual health and abilities.

What is Meditation?

There are many types of meditation. Most commonly, meditation is referred to as “focusing the mind.” It’s about training the mind. This training may involve focusing on a single word, thought, or feeling (with nothingness being the traditional thought/feeling). It could involve a completely different type of focus, such as a particular body moment or even your breathing.

What is Chakra Meditation?

Putting the two together, chakra meditation is when one uses some method to focus on the chakra points. Typically this method will involve visualizing each chakra point and its associated physical world color. Sometimes it also includes spinning the chakra in a specific direction or bringing a particular type of light into the chakra.

Why is Chakra Meditation Important?

It is believed that when one focuses on each chakra and its corresponding color, one helps to strengthen, clean, and clear that chakra point. Sometimes it is even believed to help it open up. When all the chakras are open, vital, and clear, it results in the person functioning at their peak.  It’s beneficial for helping the emotional and spiritual self heal and releasing negativity and anger. In essence, those who practice chakra meditation consistently typically find themselves healthier and happier than those who do not.

How long does Charka Meditation take?

There is no set time. Some will tell you that you need to spend at least five minutes on each chakra point. Others will indicate that 30 minutes or more of clearing and visualizing the chakras is required. Both, in my own personal experience, are wrong.

For the beginner, I encourage you to print out a rainbow and spend time gazing at each color of the rainbow every day. If you can do this for 5 total minutes, you will have completed a successful chakra meditation.

Once you master doing that, you can move on to actual mental visualizations and/or guided meditations. You’ll find there are MANY to choose from and ALL work. It’s just a matter of finding the one you resonate with.

As a general rule, however, you want to listen to a guided meditation only until you learn how to do it independently. At that point, you should start doing it on your own without the help of the guiding voice. This is important because anything you put your energy and brainpower in is far more effective than allowing someone else to tell you what and how to do something.

What are the Chakra Point Names?

Their traditional names are the Sahasrara (crown), Ajna (between brows), Vishudda (throat), Anahata (heart), Manipura (navel), Svadhishthana (sacral), and Muladhara (root).

In the West, most of us call them crown center, third eye center, throat center, heart center, solar plexus, sacral center, and root center.

What Colors are Associated with the Chakra Points?

Root = Red

Sacral = Orange

Solar Plexuses = Yellow

Heart = Green (sometimes pink)

Throat = Blue

Third Eye = Indigo

Crown Center = Violet (sometimes white)

Besides the Rainbow, How Else Can I Work with the Chakras?

Wear the color associated with the chakra. You might do red on Monday, orange on Tuesday, and so forth.

The most straightforward actual visualization to start with is sitting, closing your eyes, relaxing, then visualizing each chakra point and the color associated with that chakra point. Spend a few moments on it, then move on to the next one. Once you finish with the crown, visualize your body surrounded by golden light.

Best Wishes,

Posted in Meditation.