Reiki Code of Ethics

Reiki – A Way of Life

A Review of the Reiki Code of Ethics and Its Meaning

Reiki is a Japanese term/word which has basically evolved to mean “The Universal Life Force.” This means that Reiki comes to us originally from Japan.

We won’t go into the history of Reiki today. It’s unfortunate, but the history of Reiki varies from source to source. As such, it’s best to research it on your own. Just know that historically the origins of Reiki can be traced to start with Mikao Usui of Japan who was born in 1864 and died in 1926.

Reiki is a way of life, a form of hands on healing, and a belief system. It is not, however, a religion. In fact, many people from many different religions have learned and practice Reiki. Among those include Pagans, Christians, and Buddhist. Each puts their own twist on the history of Reiki… so be sure to check all sources to get a more rounded historical perspective.

Those of us who follow Reiki try to maintain and follow a code of ethics which consists of five sentences. This is what today’s lesson is all about. The Reiki code of ethics and what it means.

The Reiki Code of Ethics

  1. Just for today do not worry.

Followers of Reiki believe very similar to what a Course in Miracles teaches – that there are only two emotions. These two emotions are fear and love. Anger, sadness, depression, hatred, worry, and so forth are all forms of fear. These emotions weaken us and our energy system. Love, on the other hand, heals us and strengthens our energy system. All healing, be it Reiki or some other modality, starts with love. When we fill ourselves with love we truly do not worry as we have faith. With faith, anything is possible.

  1. Just for today do not anger.

Of the fear-based emotions, anger is the most destructive. It doesn’t matter if we are angry at ourselves or other people, the emotions and thoughts that go with anger create a vibration that tears down and destroys both our energy field as well as the energy fields of others. Additionally, it creates damage on a Universal level. This is one reason Huna and many other forms of Shamanism focus on the importance of forgiveness.

  1. Just for today honor your teachers, elders, and parents.

Japan is a culture which places a great deal of importance on structure. This includes the structure of authority. In Japan, your elders, teachers, and parents are seen and treated as the most important people in the world. You respect them, trust them, obey them, and listen to them. There are a few exceptions. Among those few exceptions would be abuse/cruelty.

Likewise, elders take their role as elder very seriously. They know they must teach, guide, guard, discipline, unconditionally love, and protect those of the younger generation else the tenants of society will fall apart. Additionally, if the young don’t grow and learn the traditions will eventually cease to exist.

Reiki, being founded in Japan, places an emphasis on this societal structure. By teaching students to honor their teachers, elders, and parents we continue an important tradition which helps the vibrations of both the individuals and the world.

  1. Just for today earn your living honestly.

Reiki teaches us that we all must earn a living. That we all must work and become productive people within society. As long as we don’t cheat, steal, lie, and so forth we are free to earn our living as we choose.

Reiki also teaches us that there must be an equal exchange of energy in everything we do. Nothing is “free.” That exchange doesn’t have to be monetary in nature, but it does have to hold value.  We shouldn’t look for/accept free things nor should we offer/give them.

  1. Just for today show gratitude to everything

Those who practice Reiki know how important gratitude is. Being in a mood and frame of mind of gratitude raises your vibrations and the vibrations of the world around you. Reiki doesn’t say we should be grateful to only people, but to ALL things in our world. The tree may provide shade and wood, be thankful. The water helps to clean us and nourishes us, be thankful. The food we eat is a life given up by either animal or vegetable so that we can keep living, be thankful.

Reiki also teaches us that we should be grateful even for the “negative” events in life. Through these events, we learn and grow. Additionally, there is always a positive in any negative if a person removes anger/sadness and other fear-based emotions long enough to see it.

There is a sixth unstated principle in Reiki. If you will note, all five of the above principles begin with “Just for today.” Therefore the sixth unstated principle is…

  1. Live in the moment.

Reiki teaches us to live in the moment. The past has already come and gone, don’t dwell on it else you’ll live in the past and never enjoy the present or get to the future. The future has yet to come, don’t worry about it else you’ll miss out on the opportunities of the present and as such be creating the future based on your worries. No, live in the present. Enjoy each moment for what it is. This will ensure that the past is filled with good memories and that we are working toward a healthy and bright future.


Posted in Healing and tagged .