Astrological Element of Air

The Astrological Element of Air

Zodiac Signs Gemini, Libra and Aquarius for Astrology Beginners

Astrology students usually learn how the astrological elements act. Understanding the element of air and air signs is an important step for astrology beginners.

Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius are the air signs. When describing and interpreting the element of air and the air signs, keywords like emotionally distant and communicative will come to mind.

Air Signs are Mental

Air signs are not crazy, but rather they tend to live a lot within their own heads. Most people born into the signs Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius are brilliant chess players, their mind constantly on the move and trying to understand, grasp, or figure out the next thing that’s going to happen in life.

Sometimes, because air signs tend to live so much within their own minds, people born into the element of air can appear to be somewhat “airheaded.” As such, they may appear at times to lack common sense and understanding. Even when this may be the case, the vast majority of people born as a Gemini, Libra, or Aquarius tend to pick up and learn things very quickly. 

Most air signs are on a constant quest of learning. It’s almost like they can never get enough information. Some may explore this through reading and others do it through their social interactions which include asking questions and listening to the answers.

Air Signs Can be Emotionally Distant

Since air signs are so mental, they can come across sometimes as emotionally aloof or distant. It’s not that Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius don’t have emotions (everyone does), it’s just the people born into the air element typically tend to be more objective about people and situations than most other elements. Astrology beginners will note that air signs aren’t quite as practical as earth signs, but they sometimes can seem very earthy in how they deal with situations. This can manifest in wanting to think about things before jumping too quickly into action.

Even though air signs don’t tend to be over-emotional, most Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius born people usually have some degree of compassion and some idea of fairness that they believe in and follow.

Air Signs Deal with Communication and Socialization

For almost all air signs communication and socialization take on an important role. This usually starts at a very early age. For an air sign, there is an inner need to communicate with others. This may be done through talking or it could be done by virtue of writing. Some Geminis, Librans, and Aquarians may get caught up in their email while others may not be able to get away from the phone. Regardless, there will almost always be an inner need to communicate.

Just as having an inner need to communicate is part of being an air sign, so too is the desire for social connections. Some air signs prefer one on one socializing while others would rather move from group to group gathering as much information as possible. In the end, it doesn’t matter if a person is a Gemini, Libra, or Aquarius, the need to relate and share will be very important.

When it comes to relationships Air signs need to hear the word’s “I love you” often. Unlike the water signs (which need emotional connection), earth signs (which need to be shown love), and fire signs (which require doing things together and physical affection), air signs need and want the verbal words. Air signs typically express love verbally too! Although their partner may not hear it, the typical air sign is busy bragging to their friends about all the great things their partner does for them and about how amazing their romantic partner is, though the Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius’s partner rarely, if ever, hear accolades directly from the air sign.

How can the other signs impress an air sign? All they need to do is show the air sign they are capable of handling and taking care of themselves within society. Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius greatly respect a romantic interest that can accompany them into public and give off the appearance of being socially savvy.


Posted in Astrology, Numerology, & Tarot and tagged , .